Thursday, December 01, 2016

President's Message

Hello Fellow Authors of OCC!

Our November meeting was a day well spent with Lisa Kessler who talked about “Infusing Action into Your Scenes Using all 5 Senses,” in the morning session and in the afternoon sessions “Mastering Hooks and Twists for Your Chapters.” This month we have Lynn Lorenz speaking on the timely message of “Goal Setting.” It is almost 2017 and definitely time to make our goals for the New Year as authors.

We also had our annual election for the executive board of OCCRWA. Members were able to vote on November 12th by paper vote as well as online through the OCCRWA.Org website. I want to thank all of those who volunteered as well as those who voted. Without volunteers, the chapter would have ended, and that would be a shame. Thank you also to the members who stepped up to volunteer for the non-executive positions. You are all much needed as well. Now here are the results of the election (information gathered by Maria Seager (Elections Coordinator):


33 members voted online.

20 members voted in person at the meeting.

This is a total of 53 members and well within any required quorum if there is one in the bylaws. The chapter has a total of 176 members. 34 members are associate members and not eligible to vote. This means that 142 members were eligible to vote. 53 voted which is 37% of the voting membership.

There were no write-in candidates for any of the positions. Tara Lain, Jaimie Friedl, and Jenny Hansen received 53 votes each. Kristy Phillips received 52 votes. Angela Shelley is the new secretary with 35 of the votes. Lex Valentine received 17 votes.

Due to an error in the online poll, Nancy Farrier was left off for the position of membership. However, this was corrected on the physical ballots, and she received 20 votes on those.

The new board for 2017 is as follows:

President Tara Lain

Secretary Angela Shelley

Treasurer Jaimee Friedel

VP of Communications Jenny Hansen

VP of Programming Kristy Phillips

Director of Membership Nancy Farrier


Please help me in congratulating our new board for OCC 2017!

Once again, my fellow authors thank you for all that you do and your commitment to OCC RWA where our motto is: “One hand reaching forward, one hand reaching back, in a continuing chain.”


Nichelle Scott-Williams

Aka Nikki Prince